RDMS – Registered Diagnostic Medical Sonographer

The only means of obtaining the Registered Diagnostic Medical Sonographer ® (RDMS®) credential is by examination. Required examination prerequisites must be fully met before an applicant can earn an ARDMS credential. Applicants are required to pass two comprehensive examinations to earn the RDMS credential listed below.

Important Announcement About the Neurosonology Specialty:
To adapt to the evolving field of sonography, the ARDMS Board of Directors has approved the decision to begin phasing out the Neurosonology specialty examination prior to the launch of the first Pediatric Sonography examination administration. Beginning 2015, the Neurosonology (NE) specialty examination will no longer be available. Click here to read the full announcement.

Physics Examination*:

Specialty examinations within the RDMS credential:



Fetal Echocardiography 

Obstetrics & Gynecology

Neurosonology - Discontinuing in 2015

Pediatric Sonography - First examination administration in 2015!

Please note: Applicants may pursue the FE specialty under either the RDMS or RDCS credential. Once the designated credential is earned, it cannot be switched.

*The UPI, CPI and VPI examinations have been replaced by the SPI examination and are no longer offered by ARDMS.