The office will be closed on Wednesday, June 19th and will reopen on Thursday, June 20th for Juneteenth holiday.


Get Certified

Prerequisite Prep Tool
To earn an ARDMS credential, Applicants must choose and meet the requirements of a prerequisite. Review the Prerequisite Prep tool to help guide you through the prerequisite selection process and to select a prerequisite that best meets your education and clinical ultrasound experience. Note: Re-Applicant – A re-applicant is a Candidate or Registrant who has previously applied and been approved by ARDMS to take or has taken an ARDMS examination and who is applying to take another examination; this does not include an individual who has only been approved for MSKS, MW examinations and approval of the Sonography Principles & Instrumentation (SPI) examination under the SPI Examination Requirement Pathway. Re-applicants should apply as such and thus this guide isn’t necessary for you.

Credential Earned
Examination Needed
Corresponding Specialty Examination

Midwives Only

Credential Earned
Corresponding Specialty Examination

​The only means of obtaining an ARDMS credential is by examination. Required prerequisites must be met before an applicant can earn an ARDMS credential.

Please note: Applicants may pursue the FE specialty under either the RDMS or RDCS credential. Once you take the examination under either the RDMS or RDCS credential area, it cannot be switched.

Applicants may apply and take the SPI examination and the specialty examination in any order. However, once the first examination is passed (either the SPI or specialty), you are required to take and pass the second examination within five years of passing the first examination.