Reinstatement (Renewal Non-payment)

​​​​​​​​Important Update for Physicians: ARDMS has introduced a companion certification council for physicians – the Alliance for Physician Certification & Advancement (APCA)!  Please read the post below about what APCA means for you.

If you did not renew your annual certification by the December 31, 2016 deadline, you are no longer an Active Registrant. The reinstatement process allows you to reinstate your Active status to prevent your certification(s) from being permanently revoked. You have two opportunities to reinstate your ARDMS certification(s):

​​​​​1st Reinstatement OpportunityFinal Reinstatement Opportunity
​Deadline​February 28, 2017​August 1, 2017
​Fees​Renewal Fee + $150 USD Reinstatement Fee​Renewal Fee + $300 USD Reinstatement Fee


Please note that different renewal and reinstatement policies apply to New Registrants - those who earned their first certification between December 1st and 31st, 2016. Click here to view those policies.  

You had until February 28, 2017 to pay the ARDMS renewal plus a $150 USD reinstatement fee. If you missed the February 28 deadline, you have one final opportunity to reinstate by paying the annual renew fee and a $300 reinstatement fee by the August 1, 2017 deadline.

ARDMS renewal fees are:


 Payment Methods

Reinstate Online! 
You can quickly and easily reinstate your certifications by using your Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express or electronic check by logging on to MY ARDMS. It's FAST, EASY and SECURE! Visit MY ARDMS.

Reinstate by mail:
All documents and payments by mail must be submitted and received by ARDMS on or by February 28, 2016. 
Please make check payable to Inteleos in USD funds. Please include your name and your Certification number on all documentation and payments, and mail to:

Attn: Status Reinstatement
1401 Rockville Pike
Suite 600
Rockville, MD 20852-1402

Registrant renewal fees, application fees, dues, contributions or gifts to Inteleos are not deductible as a charitable contribution for federal income tax purposes. These payments may be deductible as ordinary and necessary business expenses under Section 162 of the Internal Revenue Code. Inteleos has been organized under Section 501(c) (6) of the IRC. The Inteleos tax identification number is 51-0184277. You may wish to consult your tax advisor for further assistance.

 CME Requirements

If your ARDMS three-year CME period ends with the December 31, 2016 renewal deadline and you do not reinstate by February 28, 2017, you must submit copies of a total of 40 ARDMS-accepted CMEs if your original requirement was 30 CMEs or 80 ARDMS-accepted CMEs if your original requirement was 60 CMEs. The CMEs must be earned in your three-year CME period up to July 31, 2017. The deadline for final reinstatement is August 1, 2017.  Refer to for a full list of CME requirements - the type of CMEs required varies depending on the certifications you hold.

Fees and all required CMEs must be received together via mail. CME documentation must include the following information (do not send original certificates):
     • Your full name; handwritten entries are acceptable
     • Your ARDMS number; handwritten entries are acceptable

     • Date of course or activity (dated between January 1, 2013 and July 31, 2017*) - must be pre-
       printed, handwritten entries will be denied
     • Name of the ARDMS-approved sponsoring organization. (Please visit for a complete
        list.) - must be pre-printed, handwritten entries will be denied
     • Title of course or activity - must be pre-printed, handwritten entries will be denied
     • Number of credit hours awarded - handwritten entries are acceptable

*If you earned your first credential in 2013, then you must mail in copies of your required number of ARDMS-accepted CMEs earned anytime between the date you earned your first credential in 2013 and July 31, 2017. Send your CMEs into the ARDMS office.​


Important Update for Physicians: In June 2016 ARDMS introduced the Alliance for Physician Certification & Advancement (APCA), your new exclusive certification destination.  As a physician, you will now seek information, apply for, prepare for, and maintain both your APCA and ARDMS certifications through and the new MY APCA.  From this point forward all the services, reminders and notifications about both ARDMS and APCA certification(s) will now be provided to you by APCA.